

European Union

Third Conference of States Parties to the Arms Trade Treaty Geneva, 11-15 September 2017 Statement on matters pertaining to the Secretariat (status of financial contributions)

Mr. President,

I have the honour to speak on behalf of the European Union and its Member States. The Candidate Countries Turkey, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia*, Montenegro*, Serbia*, and Albania*, the country of the Stabilisation and Association Process and potential candidate Bosnia and Herzegovina, as well as the Republic of Moldova and Georgia, align themselves with this statement.

The EU would like to thank the ATT Secretariat for its regular updates on the status of financial contributions. We are concerned by the fact that a significant number of States Parties have not met their financial obligations. In this context, we call upon all States Parties that have not yet done so to pay their dues in full and on time as it is an important part of their Treaty obligations.

While the financial situation is currently stable, we must avoid an accumulation of arrears which would eventually harm the functioning of the Secretariat and lead to the cancellation of meetings, as is unfortunately the case in some other Geneva-based fora. We consider it important to continue to identify possible savings and further improve management practices which will help avoid financial difficulties in the future. Transparency and constant monitoring will also help identify and address the financial challenges in a timely manner. We welcome that regular updates on the status of financial contributions are made available on the ATT website, similar to the practice of other conventions and organisations. We support the ongoing work of the Management Committee to look for further ways to improve the record of financial contributions by States Parties. Finally, I would like to join others in commending the Secretariat for all its hard and dedicated work over the past year.

Thank you, Mr. President

^{*}The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia and Albania continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.